Detailed Competition Schedule

Handball is a team sport that consists of seven players (six players and goalkeepers) in both teams.

In the field where the dimensions of the field are 40x20, athletes try to pass the ball through their opponent's gate. The team that scores multiple goals is considered to be the winner.

Handball was created by the Danish sports teacher Holger Nielsen in the late 19th century in 1898. Handball rules have been developed by Max Heiser in Germany, by Karl Schelenz and by Erich Konigh in 1917. The first international game was played in 1925 for men and for women in 1930 based on these rules.

Games were held on the football field with 11x11 people until the end of the 50s. It was later played with 7x7 people.

Men's handball game was first held in the Summer Olympics in Berlin in 1936 and next in Munich at the 1972 Summer Olympic Games. Here Yugoslavia won.

Women's Handball is added to the Summer Olympic Games in Montreal in 1976.

Representatives of the Azerbaijan Handball School Rafiga Shabanova and Lyudmila Shubina were awarded the title of Olympic Champion within the USSR.

In Azerbaijan, it is considered as a popular sport. Since the 1960s, our men's and men's handballs have succeeded in the USSR championships, and women have won the European Handball Federation Cup in 1983. Women’s club multiple winner silver and bronze medals USSR Championships. Men’s club played in high division USSR Championships.

Larisa Savkina won the Olympic Games in the 1980 Olympic Games in London and Esmira Vahabzadeh became the champion in the 1984 Olympic Games.

Arif Çolagoglu, Vyacheslav Kozlov and Vladimir Korotky were considered world-class players. In 2002, women's team won the Challenge Trophy International Tournament.

In 2017, women became the Champions of the IV Islamic Solidarity Games.

Information support by AZERTAG.